

ST ALBAN'S CATHOLIC PRIMARY SCHOOL GOVERNING BOARD Love one another as I have loved you – John 15:12

MINUTES OF THE VIRTUAL MEETING OF THE GOVERNING BOARD

4 OCTOBER 2022 at 1900 hours

ATTENDANCE

Name	Category	Term ends	Present	Absent
John McDonald	Headteacher	Ex-officio	Р	
Charles Donnelly	Foundation	31/08/2026	Р	
Kevin Doogan	Foundation	31/08/2026	Р	
Jill Formston	Foundation	31/08/2026	Р	
Brigid Gribbin-Bartlett	Foundation	31/08/2025	Р	
Peter Matthews	Foundation	31/08/2025	Р	
Catherine Moor	Foundation	31/08/2025	Р	
Father Ramesh	Foundation	31/08/2026		Α
Vacancy	Foundation			
Colette Haig	Staff	31/08/2024	Р	
Carmen Davies	Parent	31/08/2026	Р	
Bridget Pullen	Parent	31/08/2026	Р	
Teresa Marnell	Co-opted	31/08/2023	Р	
Lorraine Adamson	LA	31/08/2026		Α
In attendance:	Kelly Nuttall, Deputy Headteacher Eileen Coyle, Clerk to Governors			

The Governors joined in the opening prayer.

1 ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR FOR 2022/23

The Headteacher thanked everyone for joining the virtual meeting of the Governing Board. He nominated Kevin Doogan as Chair. Peter Matthews self-nominated as Vice Chair. No further nominations were received.

<u>RESOLVED</u>: To appoint Kevin Doogan Chair, and Peter Matthews Vice Chair of the Governing Board for 2022/23.

KEVIN DOOGAN in the CHAIR

2 WELCOME. MEMBERSHIP. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

The Chair welcomed everyone to the virtual meeting. He introduced and welcomed Jill Formston and Charles Donnelly, new Foundation Governors, Bridget Pullen, reelected Parent Governor, and Carmen Davies, new Parent Governor.

The new Governors outlined their experience in other roles expressing a hope that their expertise would be beneficial to the Governing Board and the school.

The Chair announced that Lucy Lowe had stepped down as Foundation Governor due to increased work and family responsibilities. He expressed thanks to Lucy for her hard work as a Governor and requested that a letter of appreciation is sent to her on behalf of the Board.

The Chair reported that apologies for absence had been received from Father Ramesh.

The absence of Lorraine Adamson was noted.

3 NOMINATED/LINK GOVERNORS 2022/23

RESOLVED: To nominate governors in 2022/23, viz -

Nominated Governor	Area of Responsibility
Brigid Gribbin-Bartlett	Safeguarding
?Cath Moor	Send
Jill Formston	Attendance
Kevin Doogan	Pupil Premium

Link Governor	Subject
Fr Ramesh	RE
Kevin Doogan	Mathematics
Charles Donnelly	Literature
Peter Matthews	Science
Teresa Marnell	French
Bridget Pullen	Art/Design
Jill Formston	History
Lorraine Adamson	Geography
Cath Moor	SEND
?	PSHE
Bridget Gribbin- Bartlett	Music
Carmel Davies	PE

4 COMMITTEE STRUCTURE AND MEMBERSHIP 2022/23

Appended.

5 CODE OF CONDUCT. DECLARATIONS: INTERESTS, RELATIONSHIPS. GOVERNORS' SKILLS AUDIT, KEEPING CHILDREN SAFE IN EDUCATION WITH A LINK TO GOVERNORS' KCSIE.

The Headteacher acknowledged that every Governor had not yet received the documentation to complete and return.

He gave an undertaking to send the documentation to each Governor with a request to either return by post, or to scan and submit the documents by email.

6 ANNUAL PROGRAMME OF MEETINGS

The Governors noted the proposed schedule of dates, which had been appended to the agenda. No feedback was received.

7 CLOSE OF MEETING

The Chair thanked everyone for their input into a very productive, efficient meeting, and closed the business meeting at 1924 hours.

LINK GOVERNORS' ROLE

A 15-minute discussion continued between the Governors with a focus on the development of the curriculum, during which the Deputy Headteacher described the subject leader development programme, and defined the role of subject leader. The governors proposed a process for Link Governors' to engage with their subject leader.

ST ALBAN'S PRIMARY SCHOOL GOVERNING BOARD

COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP 2022/23

THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Membership	Members 2022/23	Quorum
<u>Membership</u> : Not less than four governors, including the Headteacher. An open invitation to be extended to all governors to attend meetings as their interests determine.	Headteacher Kevin Doogan Bridget Pullen Cath Moor Fr Ramesh Charles Donnelly Jill Formston <u>In attendance</u> : Deputy Headteacher	Three governors, including the Headteacher.

THE ASSETS COMMITTEE

Membership	Members 2022/23	Quorum
<u>Membership</u> : Not less than four governors, including the Headteacher.	Headteacher Peter Matthews [Chair] Kevin Doogan Carmen Davies Lorraine Adamson:	Three governors, including the Headteacher.

THE PAY COMMITTEE

Membership	Members 2022/23	Quorum
Membership: Minimum of three nominated members of the Assets Committee. The Headteacher [advisory]	As nominated	Three governors, plus the Headteacher [advisory]

THE HEADTEACHER'S PERFORMANCE MANAGEMENT

Membership	Members 2022/23	Quorum
<u>Membership</u> : Two nominated Governors, plus the School Improvement Partner [advisory].	As nominated.	Two nominated Governors, plus the School Improvement Partner Advisory].

THE STRATEGY COMMITTEE

Membership:

The Headteacher The Chair of Governors The Vice Chair of Governors The Chairs of Committees

STATUTORY COMMITTEES

THE FIRST COMMITTEE

Membership	Members 2022/23	Quorum
The Vice Chair of Governors, plus two eligible governors from the list of named governors. NB: The Headteacher, the staff governor or a governor with prior knowledge of the case, are not eligible to serve on the First Committee.	Vice Chair of Governors -Peter Matthews Charles Donnelly Jill Formston Brigid Gribbin- Bartlett Catherine Moor Fr Ramesh Carmen Davies Bridget Pullen Teresa Marnell Lorraine Adamson	Three governors, including the Vice Chair of Governors.

THE SECOND COMMITTEE

Membership	Members 2022/23	Quorum
The Chair of Governors, plus two eligible governors from the list of named governors. NB: The Headteacher, the staff governor or a governor with prior knowledge of the case, are not eligible to serve on the Second Committee.	Chair of Governors – Kevin Doogan. Charles Donnelly Jill Formston Brigid Gribbin- Bartlett Catherine Moor Fr Ramesh Carmen Davies Bridget Pullen Teresa Marnell Lorraine Adamson	Three governors, including the Chair of Governors.

<u>NB</u>: When required, the Chair of Governors to allocate members to a Committee.

Where there are insufficient eligible or available governors, Diocesan support will be sought to identify suitable governors from other governing bodies.