St Albans Primary School Logo
“Love one another, as I have loved you”

Liturgical Year

Liturgical year.JPG


The Liturgical Calendar begins every year on the First Sunday of Advent. In each cycle of the Liturgical Calendar, you will find five seasons: Advent, Christmas, Lent, Easter, Ordinary Time. During the year, the Church also celebrates various feasts. These occur during the year to commemorate special events or persons revered by the Catholic Church. 

Liturgical Colours

There are 4 principal liturgical colours:

is used in the the seasons of Easter and of Christmas; also on celebrations of the Lord (other than of his Passion), of the Blessed Virgin Mary, of the Holy Angels, and of Saints who were not Martyrs; on the solemnities of Trinity Sunday, All Saints (1 November) and of the Nativity of Saint John the Baptist (24 June); and on the feasts of Saint John the Evangelist (27 December), of the Chair of Saint Peter (22 February), and of the Conversion of Saint Paul (25 January). It may in England & Wales be used for Funerals.

is used on Palm Sunday of the Lord’s Passion and Good Friday, on Pentecost Sunday, on celebrations of the Lord’s Passion, on “birthday” feasts of the Apostles and Evangelists, and on celebrations of martyred Saints.

is used in Ordinary Time.

is used in the seasons of Advent and of Lent. It may also be worn for Funerals.

Black may be used, where it is the practice, for Funerals.Rose may be used, where it is the practice, on Gaudete Sunday (Third Sunday of Advent) and on Laetare Sunday (Fourth Sunday of Lent). On more solemn days, festive, that is, more precious, sacred vestments may be used, even if not of the colour of the day.

Key dates this term:

Palm Sunday - 24th March

Maundy Thursday - 25th March

Good Friday - 29th March

Easter Saturday - 30th March

Easter Sunday - 31st March

“Love one another, as I have loved you”

Contact the School

St Alban's Primary School

Ashburton Road, Wallasey, Wirral, CH44 5XB

Headteacher: Mr John McDonald

0151 638

Student Login